Welcome!

So you work in a technology company. …or you work in the technology department of your company. It’s hard enough to keep up with changes in technology and cut through the hype of the next big thing; but then, you also have to figure out how to get along in the Office Space-esque world that is your company.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have somewhere to get some tips and reminders to make your work-life just slightly easier?  Then welcome to The Elephant in the Data Center…the blog that focuses on technology in business and how to survive it!

I’m Scott Moshier, a veteran technologist who wants to make technology organizations better.  I’ve learned that sometimes becoming “better” is about technology, but many times its all about how to work with others in the organization.  I’ve also learned that many times, getting to “better” is all about “calling the elephant out in the room”…or in this case, calling out the elephant in the data center!

Now, I’m not the “Most Interesting Man in the World” like Mexico’s Olympic athlete Hubertus Von Hohenlohe and I haven’t taken my company public like Reid Hoffman.  However, I’ve been fortunate to have had a good amount of experience and success in technology. I’ve worked in various sectors like travel, financial services, government and healthcare.  I’ve also held various jobs as data analyst, developer, project manager and various forms of technology management. The following posts are based on what I’ve learned over the years and an attempt to give back…and doing it with a little humor and poking fun at business cliche’s along the way.  Oh, and I’ll probably add some posts on a few personal topics like travel, good food and craft beer.  So check back periodically when you’re not working some production support problem!

Business Cliche of the Day (followed by the real meaning):  Hope is not a strategy – “I don’t have a strategy, but I want to say something to deflect attention from me”

Veteran technology professional and manager

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

