New Year’s Resolution: Update Your IT Infrastructure

wireless_stock_image As we see 2015 drawing to a close, it’s time to set those new year’s resolutions.  After going through my own “infrastructure reboot” of sorts this year, it reinforced to me the need for everyone – both personally and in their business to seriously look at re-working their IT infrastructure.

On the personal front, I finally made my home technology fully wireless.  Here’s what I mean: Back in the early 2000’s, I wired my home up with a whole house stereo (I’m a bit of a music nut, but that’s for another post).  I had a central amp connected to 3 sets of speakers I could turn on or off depending on where I was listening.  I even ripped all my CD’s to MP3 (on a higher bit rate so that they sound good) and connected a Roku device to the stereo so that I wouldn’t need a CD player anymore.  That worked well.  In 2015, it still worked well.  Except for one thing: I realized that me and my family hardly used it.  What happened is that we moved from listening to our own music collection to Pandora, Spotify and YouTube.  In fact, we weren’t even watching TV (except for the obscure show or two that my wife watches, but that’s a whole other post too!).

So earlier this year, I beefed up my internet bandwidth (and I have to say that AT&T does deliver even a slightly higher bandwidth than they promise in my plan).  Then I used a powerline adapter to send the network through my electrical wiring.  Next, I added extra wireless access points to provide solid and consistent wireless connections throughout my home (I have one of those 100 year-old homes that wireless really hate). I finished up with some Airplay speakers upstairs and down.  That way, I can play any music from my phone or computer and from any app.  The result of the whole thing is that we can watch/listen to whatever we want on any device, anywhere in the house: Amazon Prime movies on the Xbox, Spotify Chromecast to my home theater in the living room, Pandora to the wireless speakers upstairs…all at the same time!!

If you haven’t updated your home technology in a while, it’s high time to do it.  Our experience has simplified our lives and made things much easier.

I also think the home technology update is a great analogy for corporate IT infrastructure.  I know what you’re saying, “Oh, I can’t even think of doing anything different with our infrastructure…and besides we have a good deal at our data center…and our sys admins know what their doing”.  That is all true (I’m sure), but you can enable simplicity, cost savings and innovation by moving away from your traditional data center and into the cloud.  The nice thing is that you can do it a little at a time.  Try some non-critical apps, for starters.  You’ll find that it’s easier than you think.  And it’s more of a thing your peers are doing anyway.  This article describes this much better than I can.  Even those “behind the times” CIO’s of State Government are focusing on this…check out this article.  If it’s a priority for State CIO’s, it can be for your company! Happy 2016!!

Veteran technology professional and manager

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

